Press Release Banner

Announcements 2006

    UTEP Engineering Receives National Diversity Award
    UTEP a Rising Star Among Engineering Schools
    UTEP Professor Among 100 Influential Hispanics
  Senator Hutchison Tours University’s Research Facilities
  UTEP Announces 2006 Distinguished Alumni
  UTEP Program Named an Example of Excelencia
  Engineering Professor Receives Piper Award for Outstanding Teaching
  UTEP College of Engineering Ranked No. 1 for the second consecutive year
  UTEP Receives Gift from Shell Oil Company
  • The National Science Foundation (NSF) has awarded $500,000 to The University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) for a three-year project designed to help more engineering students graduate from UTEP in shorter time with the skills and knowledge to make them even more competitive with graduates from other major universities. Read more.
  • Under the guidance of Professor Louis Everett, senior engineering students Keith Griffin, Jonathon Bice, and Timothy Min simulated a radial engine with Adams. They created their virtual radial engine as a way to recruit students to the UTEP engineering program. Read more.
  • Dr. Benjamin C. Flores, Associate Dean of the College of Engineering, leads the UT System Louis Strokes Alliance for Minority Participation. The Alliance is a state wide effort that comprises 9 UT schools and 7 community colleges. It's purpose is to increase the number of under-represented minorities that pursue and earn degrees in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics.
  • The College of Engineering received $1 million from the Texas Instruments Foundation for development and enhancement in Semiconductor and Electronics Materials and Wireless Communications. The team of faculty members consists of Drs. David Zubia, Gregory Lush, John McClure, Elizabeth Gardner, Bryan Usevitch and Tim Yao. Included will be the development of cleanroom facilities and related curricular improvements.
  • Three College of Engineering faculty members were awarded STAR grants from the University of Texas System – Drs. Soheil Nazarian, Pat Teller, and Ryan Wicker.