Press Release Banner
  • Dr. Ahsan Choudhuri's paper entitled "Characteristics of Nonbuoyant Elliptical Jet Diffusion Flames" has been named the 2004 AIAA Best TES Paper at the 2004 Aerospace Sciences Meeting by the AIAA Terrestrial Energy Systems Technical Committee.
  • Jorge Villalobos, a Ph.D. candidate in UTEP’s civil engineering program, has been awarded a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship. The fellowship will pay Villalobos' tuition costs and an annual stipend of $30,000 over the next three years. Villalobos was one of about 1,000 graduate students in science, technology, engineering and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees. Villalobos' research is focused on the development of a computer modeling tool that will help city leaders forecast the physical, economic and social effects of their policy decisions.
  • Drs. Luc Longpré and David Novick have been awarded $300,000 from the National Science Foundation's Computing Research Infrastructure Program, to develop a security privacy testbed, consisting of a heterogeneous network safely isolated from the internet. Work planned includes topics in security, protocols, privacy, web services, software engineering, network performance evaluation, trust, and grid computing.
  • The University of Texas at El Paso has received an in-kind contribution of software, hardware and training with a commercial value of $169 million from General Motors, EDS, Sun Microsystems, and UGS, which have selected UTEP as the newest member of the companies’ prestigious engineering-education partnership. The companies selected UTEP to Partners for the Advancement of Collaborative Engineering Education (PACE), a worldwide program established in 1999 that prepares students at selected universities for careers in automotive engineering.
  • The Texas Space Grant Consortium the Aviation and Space Foundation of Texas have awarded Alberto Cuen, Raul Estrada and Samuel Lopez Jr., all Electrical Engineering students the Crew Memorial Scholarships for the 2005-06 Academic Year. These scholarships were established by the Consortium and the Foundation in partnership with NASA in memory of the Space Shuttle Columbia astronauts. These scholarships recognize high-achieving students and encourage their consideration of graduate studies in science, technology, engineering and mathematics fields which could ultimately lead to careers in space-related fields. The scholarships stress excellence in academics, participation in space education projects, participation in research projects, and exhibited leadership qualities.