Press Release Banner


Engineering Students Receive Scholarships from Texas Space Grant Consortium

Photo courtesy of UTEP
Photo courtesy of UTEP
Five engineering students from The University of Texas at El Paso were awarded scholarships from the Texas Space Grant Consortium and the Aviation and Space Foundation of Texas.

The Columbia Crew Memorial Scholarship was established in memory of the Space Shuttle Columbia astronauts. It is designed to encourage students to consider graduate studies in science, technology, engineering and mathematics fields which will ultimately lead to careers in space related fields.

2009-2010 Columbia Crew Memorial Scholarship recipients from UTEP include Electrical and Computer Engineering students Alexander Aguirre, Ivon Ayala, Sylvia Carroll, Todd Dorethy and Vania Larios. Thirty scholarships were awarded to students from 15 colleges and universities in the state of Texas.