Press Release Banner


UTEP Competes in NASA Design Challenge

UTEP Inhumans with Col. Charles Hobaugh and Dr. Michael Gernhardt.
Photo courtesy of UTEP Inhumans
From left to right: Col. Charles Hobaugh,
Amber Goeway, Hoong Yan See Tao, Cassandra Hicks,
Robert Soto and Dr. Michael Gernhardt.
They may not be super humans like those of the Marvel Comic from which their team name is derived, but the UTEP Inhumans recently proved to be out of this world at the Texas Space Grant Consortium Design Challenge (TSGC) in League City, Texas.

Made up of five electrical and computer engineering students, the UTEP Inhumans participated in the TSGC, a design challenge where student teams are to design and fabricate a solution to real-world problems of interest to NASA or its space-research affiliated contractors.

The Inhumans were one of two UTEP teams and one of 16 teams representing universities throughout Texas. The UTEP Inhumans included Amber Goeway, Cassandra Hicks, Hoong Yan See Tao, Mayra Vega and Robert Soto. The second UTEP team, named Some Fun Electrical Engineers (SFEE), included Diana Camacho, Sean Alvarado, Javier De Jesus, Victor De La Fuente, Hugo Duran, Marcus Earley and Julio Seanez.

Team SFEE was presented the awards for Best Team Resolution and Best Team Photo. The UTEP Inhumans received awards for Best Team Web site, Best Education and Outreach Activity and Report, Best Poster Presentation, Best Name and Best Team Leader. Dr. Scott Starks, professor of electrical and computer engineering, served as faculty advisor for both teams.

– Cerrissa M. Cuellar

Horizons Online News. Citing Internet Resources. [Online], May 2, 2008.