Google Search Box.
Twenty-Seventh UTEP Engineering Alumnus Named


Twenty-Seventh UTEP Engineering Alumnus Named "Engineer of the Year"


The El Paso Chapter of the Texas Society of Professional Engineers (TSPE) awarded Isabel Vasquez, P.E. (CE '82) "Engineer of the Year" for 2011. Ms. Vasquez, Vice President - Huitt Zollars, joins twenty-six UTEP Engineering graduates who have been selected Engineer of the Year by TSPE.

Since 1956, fifty-four engineers have been recognized as Engineer of the Year for their contributions to the profession by El Paso's Chapter of the Texas Society of Professional Engineers. The annual award is distinguishes an individual engineer "for demonstrating a high level of professional skill, knowledge and conduct, for dedication to his profession and for his/her unselfish contributions to the El Paso community."

Isabel Vasquez, P.E was selected as the 2011 Engineer of the Year. A native El Pasoan, Ms. Vasquez graduated in 1977 from Thomas Jefferson High School and The University of Texas at El Paso in 1982 with a degree in Civil Engineering.

A pioneering female engineer in the El Paso region, she was the first woman Project Engineer for the El Paso Water Utilities. Since 1995, Isabel has engineered with Huitt-Zollars, a Top 200 Engineering and Architectural firm headquartered in Dallas. She was quickly promoted to Associate in her first year, became Vice President in her fourth year and is now a shareholder in the firm. Her current work includes oversight and lead for water and wastewater projects for the $4.6 billion Phase I Fort Bliss Land Development Project, the largest and most extensive development of Fort Bliss in modern times.

"I am very glad that Isabel professional achievements have been recognized by her peers. Isabel is another example of the quality of education that the College of Engineering at UTEP offers," says Carlos Ferregut, Ph.D., and Associate Dean – Research & Graduate Studies. He continues, "The College of Engineering and the Department of Civil Engineering are very proud to see one of their alumna be named Engineer of the Year. The College and the Department have benefited from Isabel's and Huitt-Zollars continue support of our activities. Several years ago Isabel and her daughters were the models of a poster we produced to promote Civil Engineering among young high school female students."

In addition to practicing engineering, Ms. Vasquez is active in recruiting young women into engineering and has assisted with Senior Project for her home department of Civil Engineering. As a respected engineer and leader Isabel has served as president for the El Paso Chapters of the American Water Works Association, the American Society of Civil Engineers and the Council of Engineering Companies.

Listing of past recipients with UTEP Engineers in bold:

1956Gerald Turner1985Danny R. Anderson
1957Laurence Wood1986Robert L. Reid
1958Carlton Homan1987Daniel B. Knorr
1959Joseph Friedkin1988Robert Ortega, Jr.
1960 William V. Holik 1989 Humberto F. Sambrano
1961Harold Tillman 1990 G. Robert Moran
1962 Robert Lyman 1991 Stephen Riter
1963 Ashley Classen 1992 Malcolm L. Steinberg
1964 Gordon Parkhill 1993 Edmund G. Archuleta
1965George Dieter1994Ruben Ponce
1966 Norman Woodruff 1995 David Brosman
1967 Clyde Nichols 1996 Jose F. Cardenas
1968 John Foster 1997 Ramon Lara
1969 John Hickerson 1998 *
1970 Harry Corbett 1999 Edward Drusina
1971 James Kirby 2000 Charles H. Berry
1972 C. L. "Tex" Kidwell 2001 J. Pat Conover
1973 Herbert Bartel 2002 Henry K. Ng
1974 Arnold Peinado 2003 Alex Woelper
1975 Fred Bernard 2004 Phillip J. Rothstein
1976 Robert Coltharp 2005 Irene Ramirez
1977 William F. Quinn 2006 Robert Moreno
1978 James R. Steele 2007 John Cordova
1979 Hector Holguin 2008 Carlos Simental
1980 Alan E. Olson 2009 Leonard Lachmann
1981 Robert Navarro 2010 Jose Rodarte
1982 Paul C. Hassler  
1983Rollie Quinn  
1984 George Kistenmacher  


The University of Texas at El Paso
College of Engineering
Engineering Building Room A148
500 W University Ave
El Paso, TX 79968

Phone: (915) 747-6444
Fax: (915) 747-5437

Social Media spacer playlist spacer Events Calendar Business Center Give Now