Google Search Box.
COURI Symposium Winners Announced


COURI Symposium Winners Announced


Dozens of undergraduate students at The University of Texas at El Paso presented their research at the Campus Office of Undergraduate Research Initiatives (COURI) Symposium April 17-18 at the Undergraduate Learning Center. The event marked COURI's fifth spring symposium and ninth overall.

COURI works to promote hands-on guidance from professors to engage students in investigation and innovation on a regular basis. Its semiannual symposium puts emerging undergraduate researchers in the spotlight. Awards are given in each of the seven disciplines represented. The award recipients for the spring 2015 symposium are listed below.

Biology and Microbiology

Best Overall: Nayell Palomino

Honorable Mention: Alexa Escapita


Chemistry and Biochemistry

Best Overall: Jorge D. Guerra

Honorable Mention: Omar Gutierrez


Civil, Mechanical, Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Best Overall: Dante Chaparro Vega

Honorable Mention: Joselyn Cardenas Anaya


Geological Sciences, Environmental Science and Physics

Best Overall: Samira G. Armijos

Honorable Mention: David Soto


Electrical Engineering, Computer Engineering and Computer Science

Best Overall: Roya Edalatpour

Honorable Mention: Paola Gallardo


Social and Behavioral Sciences

Best Overall: Melissa Armendariz

Honorable Mention: Alex Barron


Creative and Performing Arts

Best Overall: Mayra Rodarte

Honorable Mention: Deven James McCoy


Mentoring Award

Hugues Ouellet, Biological Sciences


The University of Texas at El Paso
College of Engineering
Engineering Building Room A148
500 W University Ave
El Paso, TX 79968

Phone: (915) 747-6444
Fax: (915) 747-5437

Social Media spacer playlist spacer Events Calendar Business Center Give Now